I’m Asking for Your Assistance!

28 Sep

Well, my first entry at BlogEngage’s Best of the Guest Bloggers Contest is up, and a second one is in the hopper. I’m planning to do a series, and the one that scores the highest will end up being my entry. My first entry can be seen here, Doc Says: So You Want to be a Blogger?

The background on the contest can be seen on my other blog, Doc Sheldon’s SXO Clinic. I’ll let you read about it over there. What I want to do here is ask for your help.

The judging is based upon the quality of the post, the quantity and quality of comments, my response to those comments, the amount of social media promotion of the post, and the on-site voting for the post.

That’s where ya’ll come in (I hope). If you’ll go read the post, vote on it (if you think it’s any good) and leave a comment (please… not just, “great post!”… a comment with some substance.), and then share the post around the social media. Twitter, Facebook, MySpace, Delicious, Digg, Reddit, StumbleUpon, FriendFeed, Technorati, etc…. any and all, you’ll be helping me tremendously!

It’s for a good cause, too. Me! Well, actually, that’s not entirely accurate. I need a new computer. This six year old Dell Dinosaur is rapidly giving up the ghost. And since I now make what I laughingly call a “living” on the internet, I need to get a new desktop, as this laptop is maxed out, and crashes on me several times per day. So, in a round about way, I guess I’m the “good cause”. Or at least, my sanity is!

I’d really appreciate any assistance ya’ll can give me on this, folks. Pass it on to your kin and neighbors, too. We’ll make it a party!

8 Responses to “I’m Asking for Your Assistance!”

  1. joni September 30, 2010 at 5:47 am #

    way to go doc. where do i vote????

  2. Michael October 10, 2010 at 6:50 pm #

    I’d like to vote but I don’t know what I’m doing. Is that important?

    • Doc October 10, 2010 at 7:20 pm #

      Hello, Michael-
      I just found out this morning that I was misinformed. Apparently, one has to register on BlogEngage in order to vote. If you want to vote, you can register there quickly and easily. However, if you prefer not to do that, perhaps you would be willing to just post the BlogEngage page of my post on Twitter, Facebook, StumbleUpon, or any other social media sites you use. Those bookmarks will also count as votes.
      Sorry about the mixup. I do appreciate your attempt!

  3. Christian Paulsen November 7, 2010 at 10:12 am #

    Doc,

    I liked the blog (So you want to be a blogger?). I stumbled it and left some comments. Hope it helps.

    Chris

    • Doc November 7, 2010 at 10:58 am #

      Hi, Christian. I saw that, and it is greatly appreciated! It’s funny, because that was my first entry in the contest. Then I decided to do a series, and did five more. The first one was the most popular, although I had thought that a couple of the others offered better information. Just goes to show, sometimes our own view is clouded. 😉
      Thanks for stopping by, Christian… I hope you won’t be a stranger.

  4. Amr Boghdady November 26, 2010 at 8:29 am #

    Hi Doc,
    I used to check your blog every so often, but you seemed to have stopped writing new posts
    Are you retiring ? 😦

    • Doc November 26, 2010 at 9:03 am #

      Hello, Amr-
      Actually, I “retired” nearly three years ago, and took up SEO copywriting as a part-time thing. Since then, it’s grown into very much a full-time activity. I’m not “retiring” from Ramblings of a Madman, though… I’ve just been very busy (and extremely lax). Thanks for reminding me! I have to achieve a little better balance in my writing activities. I promise, I’ll start posting more regularly here again soon.
      Thanks for the reminder any your patience.

Leave a Reply

