Damned Dog!

15 Sep

We went to a friend’s place for a party tonight, and when we got home, I found that my cowardly-stinkin’-run-&-hide-anywhere-he-can-when-he-hears-a-firecracker dog had tried to fit his 40 lb carcass into a crevasse that a field mouse would have enough sense to know he couldn’t fit, and managed to knock over a 200 lb propane tank.

The good news is, the tank’s landing was softened, so that it didn’t damage the concrete, or explode.

The bad news is, it was softened by the hood of my Celica GT!

The other bad news is that it wasn’t softened by my cowardly-stinkin’-run-&-hide-anywhere-he-can-when-he-hears-a-firecracker dog!

There’s just no justice in this world!

Which reminds me…

MVF7PRUW9TD8!

That’s for Technorati.

12 Responses to “Damned Dog!”

  1. SteveG September 15, 2010 at 10:15 pm #

    Dude.. That sucks.. Just remember, it “could” have been worse.. Dad knocked over a full 300cf oxy tank after he took the cap off.. Valve broke off and sent the tank through the factory and light speed.. Fortunately it only took out an overhead door..

    And we never talk about the tank we propped upside down in a “rack” and then shot the valve off with a rifle.. We figure since we never found it, it never happened.. So we don’t talk about it..

    • Doc September 15, 2010 at 10:22 pm #

      I guess you’re right, Steve. It could have been worse. And if I’d found the dog under the tank, I probably would have felt really bad about it. At least if there wasn’t a huge friggin’ dent in my hood! I was tempted to throw the tank at him, and pissed off enough, that I probably could have done it!

      Left handed!

  2. Shawna September 16, 2010 at 6:39 pm #

    I could totally picture that, Doc. What a Benny Hill moment that would have been to capture on camera. Dog knocking it down and you chasing him in circles saying “Dagnabit!”

    • Doc September 16, 2010 at 7:25 pm #

      When I got home and found the tank embedded in the hood of my car, I wasn’t thinking of cameras. If I coulda caught the little SOB, I’d have wrung his furry little neck!

  3. Laine D September 20, 2010 at 11:04 am #

    OMG! Guess he really wanted to get behind that tank.. reminded me of that “oops there goes another rubber tree plant!” showing my age. On the plus side since it didn’t hit him and you didn’t catch him you don’t have vets bills too.

    We have a Doberman who has taken a dislike to scissors (something she must have experienced before she came here from Serbia). I was cutting a mat out of one of the other dogs coats last night when she crept up and took them off me, when a Dobe’s mouth closes around your hand you let go! Took 40 mins for me to persuade her to let me have them back ~ coaxed, cajoled, swore, all to no effect. All I could think about was running with scissors, she actually didn’t do any damage to my hand, herself or my furniture (Thank God) – smart dog!

    Laine D
    http://www.ThoughtsfromAbroad.net

    • Doc September 20, 2010 at 11:37 am #

      That’s funny, Laine! Makes ya wonder whether she was protecting you, the other dog, or herself. Definitely sounds as though she flashed on some sort of bad experience. Curious… are her ears clipped? Some places, they’ll clip older pups, with no refrigerant to even partially numb them, and I could sure see why that might have stuck in her mind!

  4. Laine D September 20, 2010 at 12:33 pm #

    Hey Doc,
    Does make you wonder! Yes both ears and tail are docked – although since she is a from an IDC world champion litter, I hope not! There is a scar on her leg that we wondered about though so…

    Now undertaking desensitization by teaching her to associate scissors with play or treats! Had to do that with the dremel to do her nails – had to spread peanut butter on my daughters hands for her to lick. Smart dog though how can you yell? and if someone came at me or the girls with scissors or a knife I wouldn’t mind her taking them.

    Interestingly the fluffy dogs(3)don’t have any probs with the scissors.

    Laine D

    • Doc September 20, 2010 at 1:14 pm #

      Well, you’d certainly hope that coming from a top litter, she’d have had decent treatment. But then, you have to remember that many other countries look at animals in a much different light than we do.

      I’m betting that if I’d had my eyes open when I was circumcised, I’d still be a little leery of sharp instruments, too! 😉 I still know docs that swear up and down that an newborn infant doesn’t feel a thing. BS!

  5. Laine D September 20, 2010 at 1:19 pm #

    Ouch! Yeah well evertime I see childbirth on the TV I have the same reaction so…

    As for Ziva I know I paid for the anesthetic but…

    How is your dog reacting to large propane tanks now? Might need to think of a bracing system.

    Laine

    • Doc September 20, 2010 at 3:19 pm #

      Haven’t noticed that he’s particularly worried about the tanks. He does give me a wide berth, though. He knows when I’m not happy with him! 😉

  6. Laine D September 20, 2010 at 4:16 pm #

    Always a source of humor Doc – even at the cost of your bonnet (hood.. right). Hope you can fix it or replace it – maybe the dog is smarter than we thought, if he knows enough to avoid you right now.

    ¡hasta luego!
    Laine

  7. Jillian September 21, 2010 at 7:40 pm #

    I don’t mean to laugh…but…..BUAWAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAH

    I’m picturing a sitcom with the car hood and what it must look like now! O wow. That stinks.

    Thanks again for the heads up on my blog…
    Not bad for a quickie….check it out! 🙂
    Jillian

Leave a Reply

