It’s Very Personal

7 Aug

Before I get started… a note about a commenter yesterday. He accused me of taking advantage of someone else’s situation, just to get more traffic to my blog! He said he didn’t come here to read about nothing but somebody that has cancer and wants money!

So I invited him to go elsewhere. I also pointed out that Rachel (and many tens of thousands of other cancer sufferers) didn’t sign on to be guinea pigs, pin cushions or statistics, either, and that they didn’t particularly enjoy being unable to sleep, eat or do the things they’re used to doing.

And I also invited him to perform a presumably impossible unnatural act with himself.

Cretin!

***

There are a few things that have truly amazed me, since I got involved in Rachel’s awareness and fund drive.

First, I am blown away by the breadth of the support Rachel has received, from people all over the world… over 60 countries, the last time I checked. It’s inspiring and encouraging, particularly for a cynic like me. You people ROCK! (you know who you are!;))

Second, and not so encouraging, I am taken aback by the ability of some people to tune out that which isn’t personally convenient. I suppose we’ve all turned our eyes away, to avoid acknowledging a panhandler, at one time or another. I have, I’ll admit. Strangely, that didn’t make them really disappear, though… only from my awareness. They were still dirty, hungry and homeless. They were still left feeling, yet again, as though they were invisible (which is a pretty rotten feeling, all by itself!).

I think that when we opt to feign blindness or ignorance of the suffering of others, we also do ourselves great harm. We not only cheapen them and their circumstances, but also ourselves and our own. It shames me to think of the times that I pretended not to see someone who was only reaching out for some help. If you’re one that has done the same, I would urge you to take a long, hard look at your outlook, and decide if that’s the way you want to continue.

And third, there’s another type of amazement… the troll that left the idiotic comment yesterday, and the moronic girl in yesterday’s post. I consider both of them to be total wastes of space, contributing nothing beyond the carbon dioxide for the plant life. Neither of them give any thought to the harm they do, let alone the good they could do.

All in all, it’s obvious to me that there are still a lot of good people in the world. Rachel does need more of them to step up, however. We’re a long way from achieving our goal of helping her with her $80,000 insurance co-pay. You’ve certainly given her a BIG lift, by your show of support and caring! And many of you have made contributions to the fund, which obviously helps a lot! Now, I’m asking each of you to do a little more – invite your friends to her Facebook fanpage, Tweet about her situation, visit her blog, and leave her a friendly comment, visit her website and donate and/or comment. And PLEASE, pass on the request to everyone you know… make this a personal campaign!

Because I assure you, for Rachel and her family, it’s VERY personal.

3 Responses to “It’s Very Personal”

  1. breeoxd August 7, 2010 at 2:27 pm #

    on my facebook!

    • Doc August 7, 2010 at 2:44 pm #

      Thank you, Bree! Every little bit helps, and awareness is the best tool at our disposal right now!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention It’s Very Personal « Ramblings of a Madman -- Topsy.com - August 7, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Sheldon Campbell, Sheldon Campbell. Sheldon Campbell said: It is VERY personal! Pls RT https://mst3.wordpress.com/2010/08/07/its-very-personal/ […]

Leave a Reply

