A Day To Celebrate

17 Jul

Stethoscope

Just a short post, to share our good news: Our youngest daughter graduated from high school last year, and has been trying to get admitted to medical school, even though 85% of the applicants are turned away. Although she’s gotten discouraged a few times (as have we), she finally found out yesterday that she’s been accepted!

The best thing is that she will be attending the second most prestigious medical school in the country, right here in town. So she can continue to live at home with us, which will save us both money and gray hair (I remember the 23 hour per day partying from my college days).

The Missus and I have both lost sleep over this hiatus in her education. I remember how hard it is to get back into the swing of things, after being away from school for a while. Not that I was exactly what you might call honor roll material. I barely scraped by in some classes, and to this day, I get nauseous even hearing the word, calculus.

And now, in our “twilight years”, we’ll have free medical care! Beat THAT, President Obama!

And now it’s time for me to get back to celebrating. Cheers!

6 Responses to “A Day To Celebrate”

  1. Shawna July 17, 2010 at 5:31 pm #

    That is great! You must be so proud of her and of course relieved that it is going to be affordable for both you and her. Awesome! Congrats to your daughter. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Doc July 17, 2010 at 6:25 pm #

      Affordable is an understatement! The cost per semester here, is about half the cost per week, stateside!

  2. Derek July 18, 2010 at 12:10 pm #

    Doc, this is great news and congrat’s. You still got your daughter under your control… i mean at home.

    Getting into med school is very hard, especially the very good ones. I remember going to a lot of frat parties when my friends was in college. Don’t know how i survived them. Congrats to your daughter and make sure she does her homework. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Doc July 18, 2010 at 12:52 pm #

      Thanks, Derek. Yeah, it makes me a little more comfortable having her here, under our wing. I think ‘Do as I say, not as I did!’ sums it up pretty well. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Sue Russell July 29, 2010 at 11:45 am #

    I am a proud aunt, and aslao relieved she’ll be living at home.

    • Doc July 29, 2010 at 2:25 pm #

      You and me both, baby sister!

Leave a Reply

