Serenity

16 Dec

Oracion de la Serenidad

Señor, concédeme la serenidad  para aceptar las cosas que no puedo cambiar,

Valor para cambiar las cosas que puedo,

Y sabiduría para reconocer la diferencia.

Translated, it says:

Lord, grant me the serenity to accept those things I cannot change,

Courage to change those things that I can,

And the wisdom to know the difference.

I cannot say that if I were given a chance to live my life all over again, that there aren’t some things I wouldn’t want to change. I don’t have a lot of regrets, but there are a few.

I would still want things to end up as they are now, though. If I had lived differently, I wouldn’t be the same person I am. I might be less prepared to appreciate what I have, if I had lived a little more sanely. Certainly, I would be a different person, and I don’t think I would want that.

By no means, have I had a bad life, nor even a difficult one. Sure, I’ve had setbacks… financial, emotional, physical…but they’ve helped me become the person I am, and while I’m sure there are some that might not agree, I like who I am.

I’m a little irreverent, to be sure. And I’m certainly not a religious person. But I do have an opinion of what I think God wants of us, and I try to live up to those expectations, at least for the most part.

I now know what it is to be loved. And I know what it is to truly love.

I used to take pretty good care of myself, and was in good physical condition for the most of my life. I don’t remember exactly when I stopped caring so much, but from looking in the mirror, it certainly wasn’t just yesterday. You don’t achieve this level of deterioration overnight!

I used to be fairly sure about my opinions on most issues. I’ve learned that there are no absolutes, however. Now I can look objectively at both sides of an argument, and pick out the good and the bad of each.

In my younger days, I was very judgmental, and tended to be closed-minded. Now, I can not only listen to opposing arguments with my mind open, I seek out debate, in order to learn more.

Of all the changes that I have undergone, in the last half a century or so, I think the most valuable has been this. I have finally realized (and it was slow coming, believe me) that I’m not an island. I’m a part of my family, my community, my country and the world. Every action or inaction, on my part, eventually affects someone, somewhere. Just as every thing else, affects me.

And I think that realizing that has helped me to become a better person, a better husband and a better father.

And when you come right down to it, that’s the main reason I’m here, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

