351 Cleveland Build-out Should be Fun

27 Sep

My brother-in-law bought himself a little project the other day, and has enlisted my help in restoring it. It’s a ’54 Ford F-100 stepside pick-up, which is really in pretty good condition. It’s been stored inside, has very little rust, and the body is intact.

A bonus… at some point, someone had dropped a 351 Cleveland into it, which will be my part. We still haven’t decided whether we’ll use that, or opt for a more economical small-block 302, and sell the 351. If so, I’ll probably go ahead and rebuild it anyway, just ’cause! I figure if he decides to sell the 351, we can get enough for it to pay for the 302 block and a good chunk of what he paid for the truck, too.

And then, I’ll get to build the 302, too! I’ve never done a small-block Ford V8, and the 302 offers a lot of options. If I can talk him into getting rid of the semi-automatic transmission that came with the truck, then I’ll grab a 4 spd. standard and beef it up a little. Should be a fun few weeks.

The even better part… I’ll be doin’ the part I like, while he’s stuck with all the welding, grinding and sanding on the chassis. We’ve already picked up a Mustang II chassis, and will be integrating that front end into the ’54, once I get the jig built.

And the very best part of all… we’ll be doing the job at his place, so HE can listen to HIS wife bellyache about the dirt, noise and clutter for the next few months, instead of ME having to put up with it.

Hoo-boy! I don’t think the poor guy has a CLUE about how much he’s gonna suffer for this! Been there, done that, and got the scars to prove it!

I intend to take a lot of before-during-after shots, and will be posting them now & then. Especially some choice pics of his wife raising hell about it.

Ah…. life is good!

3 Responses to “351 Cleveland Build-out Should be Fun”

  1. neighborofthebeast September 27, 2010 at 7:55 pm #

    Dammit Doc, I don’t know… a sister in-law is still an in-law.. and as such can deliver quite a sting. You should probably make sure to just stay in the garage, out there.. where it’s safe.

    Don’t know much about cars, but I’d go with the standard transmission as well…

    Good luck!

    • Doc September 27, 2010 at 8:08 pm #

      She definitely has a stinger, but she’s got enough sense not to point it my way. No, he’ll take the heat for this, and I’m sure it’ll be plenty. She seems to think that this beast may be cluttering up the place for as long as a month! HAH! I already told her that a project like this would take 6-12 months, depending upon how much beer we drink!
      And there WILL be plenty of beer!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Change of Plans « Ramblings of a Madman - January 22, 2011

    […] Jan If you caught this September post, then you’ll understand why I’m a little frustrated. Originally, we intended to build a […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 365 other followers

